WITHERFALL – i dettagli del nuovo album e il video di “Ode To Despair”

Written by on September 11, 2018

Share on

Gli americani WITHERFALL pubblicheranno il nuovo album “A Prelude To Sorrow” il 2 novembre 2018 su Century Media Records. Oggi la band ha reso disponibile il video del singolo estratto dall’album, “Ode To Despair”.
L’album sarà pubblicato in Limited Edition Digipak2LP con poster e incisione sul lato D e in digitale.

Di seguito artwork, trackilst e preorder:

  1. A Prelude To Sorrow (1:27)
  2. We Are Nothing (11:13)
  3. Moment Of Silence (6:55)
  4. Communion Of The Wicked (6:40)
  5. Maridian’s Visitation (3:1)
  6. Shadows (7:08)
  7. Ode To Despair (3:49)
  8. The Call (2:11)
  9. Vintage (11:06)
  10. Epilogue (2:47)

“ Ode to Despair was the first composition that was completed for “A Prelude to Sorrow” so it only seems fitting to start off with this track. Its origin traces back to around 2016 when we were figuring out what to do with Sagan being sick and unable to perform. Fueled by red wine and only a glimmer of the sorrow that was to come “Ode” took only one writing session to complete. The video was shot over the two month span that we were in the studio tracking “A Prelude to Sorrow” and watching the video brings you into the world we inhabited for what seems like an eternity… Special thanks to Don Adams and his masochistic tendencies and keen editor’s eye. Stay tuned for more…”

On “A Prelude to Sorrow”, main songwriters Joseph Michael (vocals, Sanctuary – live) and Jake Dreyer (Iced Earth) succeeded in perfectly combining the group’s technical proficiency with an appropriate eerie and somber atmosphere, manifesting also in Kristian Wåhlin’s majestic cover painting. For mix and mastering, WITHERFALL again worked with Chris “Zeuss” Harris (Sanctuary, Queensryche, Iced Earth) and “Ode to Despair” is just a mere glimpse at the depth and quality, the album holds within.

The following limited vinyl colours are available:
400x transparent blue vinyl – only available at www.witherfall.com/merch
200x clear vinyl – only available at Century Media’s European store http://bit.ly/WitherfallCMD

Jake Dreyer – Guitars
Joseph Michael – Vocals/Keyboards
Anthony Crawford – Bass
Fili Bibiano – Guitar
Steve Bolognese- Drums


Share on

Current track