DREAM THEATER – i dettagli del nuovo album “Distance Over Time”

Written by on November 6, 2018

Share on

I due volte nominati ai Grammy Awards, leggende viventi del panorama prog-metal con alle spalle milioni di dischi venduti DREAM THEATER annunciano la release del quattordicesimo e nuovo album. “Distance Over Time” sarà pubblicato il 22 febbraio 2019, il primo su InsideOutMusic / Sony Music.
“Distance Over Time” è stato prodotto dallo stesso chitarrista John Petrucci, mixato da Ben Grosse (Marilyn Manson, Disturbed, Depeche Mode, Alter Bridge) e masterizzato da Tom Baker(The Rolling Stones, David Bowie, The Who, Nazareth, Santana).

“Quando mi metto ad ascoltare l’album mi torna in mente il periodo in cui abbiamo ci siamo trovati a scrivere, quello che ci ha ispirato e tutto quello che sta dietro a ogni canzone. Come produttore il mio intento è stato quello di creare il miglior album dei Dream Theater di sempre, con gli accorgimenti migliori e il sound migliore. Volevo che il prodotto finale rispecchiasse lo spirito, la gioia e la passione che ognuno di noi stava contribuendo a portare. Penso che l’obiettivo sia stato raggiunto e spero che i fan apprezzino ciò che abbiamo fatto e spero la pensino alla stessa maniera” 
– John Petrucci –

L’artwork è stato curato da un altrettanto leggendario collaboratore di lunga data Hugh Syme, già al lavoro con mostri sacri quali Rush, Iron Maiden, Stone Sour e Megadeth ed è disponibile di seguito:

In June 2018, Dream Theater secluded themselves in a private location in upstate New York to begin writing for the new record. While spending the summer living together in the property’s adjacent residence, the band spent their days and nights crafting the music that would make up the new album in the ‘Yonderbarn’; a beautiful and spacious barn that had been meticulously transformed into a state-of-the art film and recording studio. Following an intense & extremely productive period of group writing sessions and wanting to retain the magic that was captured in this scenic and inspiring location, they decided to record the album in the very room they had all convened to write together in. Living together during the writing and recording for ‘Distance Over Time’ marked another first for the band’s 33-year career. The result is a heavier collection of songs that showcases the early roots of the band while exploring new territory as musicians and as friends.

“It was like going back to summer camp,” adds James LaBrie. “Being around each other the whole time made it that much more of a profound experience. I think the songs reflect the energy. It was a lot of fun to have a situation so powerful at this point in our career.”

Dream Theater is also planning to hit the road in support of the new album. The ‘Distance Over Time’ Tour of North America was recently announced and kicks off on March 20, 2019 in San Diego, CA. The tour will run for seven weeks before wrapping up in Mexico City on May 4, 2019.
Information on tickets for all upcoming shows as well as VIP packages can be found at www.dreamtheater.net. More tour dates for the worldwide tour will be announced in the near future.

Progressive metal pioneers Dream Theater— James LaBrie (Vocals), John Petrucci (Guitars), Jordan Rudess (Keyboards), John Myung (Bass), and Mike Mangini (Drums) — share a unique bond with one of the most passionate fan bases around the globe as evidenced by their two GRAMMY® Award nominations and 15 million records sold worldwide. The 1992 opus Images & Words received a gold certification and landed on Rolling Stone’s coveted “100 Greatest Metal Albums of All-Time.” Guitar World placed the follow-up Awake at #1 on “Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums That Defined 1994.” 1996’s A Change of Seasons notably soundtracked NBC’s coverage of Downhill Skiing at the 2002 Winter Olympics. Fans voted the 1999 Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory the “Number One All-Time Progressive Rock Album” in a 2012 Rolling Stone poll. Not to mention, it ranked as the “15th Greatest Concept Album” by Classic Rock.  2009 saw Black Clouds & Silver Linings crash the Billboard Top 200 at #6 as A Dramatic Turn of Events [2011] and Dream Theater [2013] maintained a three-peat in the chart’s Top 10. Consequence of Sound dubbed 2016’s The Astonishing, “An absolutely unique experience.”  Beyond three platinum and two gold videos, the group was inducted into the Long Island Music Hall of Fame in 2010. On its 14th full-length and first release for InsideOutMusic / Sony Music, Distance Over Time, the band recharge the brotherhood that has kept them creating music together for over 30 years. It’s Dream Theater at their most dynamic, direct, and definitive.

In 2018, InsideOutMusic have been celebrating 25 years as one of the leading labels worldwide for progressive music and is part of the Century Media Label Group, a division of Sony Music.

Pic Credit is: Mark Maryanovich

James LaBrie – Lead Vocals
John Petrucci – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Jordan Rudess – Keyboards
John Myung – Bass Guitars
Mike Mangini – Drums, Percussion


Share on

Current track